How can girls and women be catalysts for change? Join #girls4change Tweet Chat, 3 April

Girls and women are catalysts for change (#girls4change). When girls and women are educated, healthy, and empowered, they invest back into their families, communities, and nations. We know it’s true – when girls and women survive, the world thrives.

That’s why we want to make sure girls and women are a focal point in the TEDxChange 2013 discussions. This year, the event will be convened by Melinda Gates and will center on the theme of “positive disruption.”

Disruption can be a positive – sometimes vital – catalyst for change. It can challenge old assumptions, ignite conversations, activate authorities and expose new possibilities. Disruption can shed a unique light on difficult issues, giving a fresh urgency and perspective to the challenges of our global community. To solve the most intractable challenges in health and development, we need positive disruption.

Join a twitter chat hosted by Women Deliver, Pathfinder, and Girls Not Brides to share ideas, spark discussion, and engage leaders about how girls and women are catalysts for change. On April 3rd from 11am – 12pm EDT (3pm – 4pm GMT), follow the discussion using the hashtag #girls4change.

  • 11am – 11:20am EDT (3pm – 3:20pm GMT) Invest in girls and women – it pays! Women Deliver (@WomenDeliver)
  • 11:20am – 11:40am EDT (3:20pm – 3:40pm GMT) Let’s #endchildmarriage to release girls’ potential worldwide! (@GirlsNotBrides)
  • 11:40am – 12pm EDT (3:40pm – 4pm GMT) #PositiveDisruption for #ReproHealth PathFinder (@PathfinderInt)

We hope you can join our lively conversation. See you on Twitter!