

UN Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights 2025 membership

On 9 April 2024, the UN Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) elected nine new members to the United Nations Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (CESCR). The CESCR is a key United Nations Treaty Body composed of a total of 18 experts who are charged with monitoring the implementation of the International Covenant on Social, Economic, and Cultural Rights to protect fundamental human rights related to health, education, food, water, housing, social security, work, and more. Elections take place every two years. Members are elected for four-year terms by ECOSOC Member States and may be re-elected if nominated.

The table below provides details of the newly-elected Committee members, including names, states, and terms of office. The biographical profiles of the elected members, whose terms will begin on 1 January 2025 and are due to expire on 31 December 2029, can be found here. The current list of CESCR members, for 2024, can be found here.

Name	State	Election term	Years of office
Nadir Adilov	Azerbaijan	Term 2 (re-elected)	2021-2029
Lazhari Bouzid	Algeria	Term 1	2025-2029
Peijie Chen	China	Term 1	2025-2029
Laura-Maria Crăciunean-	Romania	Term 2 (re-elected)	2021-2029
Tatu			
Charafat El Yedri Afailal	Morocco	Term 1	2025-2029
Seree Nonthasoot	Thailand	Term 2 (re-elected)	2021-2029
Giuseppe Palmisano	Italy	Term 1	2025-2029
Michael Windfuhr	Germany	Term 2 (re-elected)	2021-2029
Laura Elisa Pérez	Mexico	Term 1	2025-2029